19 cars for the rookie test in Bahrain – Motorsport Week

19 cars will take part in the rookie test of the FIA ​​World Endurance Championship on Sunday at the Bahrain International Circuit.

The test is returning for the first time since 2019 as it was not carried out in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

All three hypercars were submitted, along with seven cars in LMP2, four in GTE Pro and five in GTE Am.

Toyota Gazoo Racing will use both of its masterful GR010 hybrid hypercars. Mike Conway will share the number 7 car with Charles Milesi, one of two drivers officially nominated for the test by the WEC. The # 8 car is shared by Sebastien Buemi and seven-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Ogier.

Alpine has registered its # 36 Alpine A480-Gibson exclusively for Nicolas Lapierre.

In LMP2, the Richard Mille Racing Team will have its # 1 ORECA 07-Gibson driven by W Series stars Jamie Chadwick and Alice Powell and Alpine Elf Europa Cup driver Lilou Wadoux. DragonSpeed ​​has invited Juan Pablo’s son Sebastian Montoya to drive his # 21 with his father and Ben Hanley. Jazeman Jaafar will drive for JOTA, while Sophia Floersch will test alongside Robin Frijns in Team WRT.

Two teams, Racing Team Nederland and Realteam Racing, took part in the test but have not yet announced any drivers.

A total of four Ferraris, three Aston Martins and two Porsches are used in the GTE ranks. AF Corse will welcome Peter Mann, Simon Mann and Christof Ulrich on board its # 51 Ferrari 488 GTE Evo alongside Alessandro Pier Guidi in vehicle # 52, while Porsche has nominated its entire Bahrain 8H line-up.

Depending on the outcome of the season finale on Saturday, Porsche or Ferrari will also welcome Laurents Hörr, the second officially nominated driver, for the test.

In GTE Am, Iron Lynx used both cars for drivers from different backgrounds. Former GP3 driver Bruno Baptista and TCR Europe driver Franco Girolami will drive the # 60 Ferrari, while former FIA F3 and Indy Lights drivers Alex Peroni and Benjamin Goethe will share the car with the # 85.

Both TF Sport and NorthWest AMR will also take part in the test for Aston Martin. Their line-up consists of Kenton Koch, Valentin Hasse-Clot, Nicolai Kjaergaard, Dylan Murry, Greg Huffaker, Florian Latorre and Andrew Watson.

Other well-known names on board the number 98 Aston Martin Vantage AMR are the IMSA WeatherTech Sprint Cup champion Roman de Angelis and the BMW GT3 ace David Pittard.

About Veronica Richards

Check Also

Zambia’s racing couple looking forward to WRC experience

Leroy and Urshlla Gomes are on their way to a big stage when they make …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.