Al-Attiyah becomes the winner of the Rally Lebanon

Qatar’s Nasser Saleh al-Attiyah and his French co-driver Mathieu Baumel clinched the 44th Rally Lebanon title by leading the final two stages on Sunday, with an overall time of 1:52:23.2 seconds 5:52, Bassel Abu Hamdan and Fras Elias finished 8 seconds before Lebanon.
Unfortunately, Lebanon’s 15-time record champion Roger Feghali suffered an accident along with Joseph Matar on the last day and had to retire. They finished fourth overall (2:04:57.1).
Al-Attiyah, who had already clinched a record 18th Middle East Rally Championship (MERC) title before the final stage in Lebanon, expressed his happiness and emphasized that he is always striving to support Qatar and the Arab region at every turn championship in the world including the Dakar Rally.
“I am very happy to have won the Rally Lebanon. I am always very keen to represent my country, Qatar and the Arabs as a whole in any sports championship that I participate in in the best way around the world,” said al-Attiyah while inviting fans from all over the world to to come to Qatar in November and December to witness the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022.
Ziad Jamous, Director of Rally Lebanon 2022, congratulated Nasser al-Attiyah on winning the Rally title for the second time in its history.
“This win came as no surprise as the competition was limited to Lebanese drivers Roger Feghali and Nasser Saleh al-Attiyah,” he said, noting that Feghali’s accident and retirement from the rally settled the outcome in al-Attiyah’s favour.
He also pointed out that competition was at its peak for the last three days and there were no serious accidents for drivers throughout the rally.
Organized by the Automobile and Touring Club of Lebanon (ATCL), this year’s event was held over 10 asphalt special stages totaling 192.30km and covering a total distance of 478.83km over winding mountainous asphalt roads to the north and east of Beirut.
The rally had two runs through the Nahr Ibrahim stage and three runs of the Hboub stage yesterday.

Pos. Driver Passenger Time (Diff. Prev. Diff. First)
1. 1 Volkswagen Polo GTI, Nasser al-Attiyah, Matthieu Baumel 1:52:23.2
2. 10 Skoda Fabia Bassel, Abu Hamdan, Firas Elias 1:58:16.0 +5:52.8 +5:52.8
3. 9 Skoda Fabia, Tamer Ghandour, Salim Jleilaty 1:58:26.7 +10.7 +6:03.5
4. 8 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, Alex Feghali, Marc Haddad 2:04:57.1 +6:30.4 +12:33.9
5. 14 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX, Chadi Fakieh, Samer Sfeir 2:05:49.9 +52.8 +13:26.7
6. 15 Citroen DS3, Elias Dehni, Amin AKL 2:07:57.1 +2:07.2 +15:33.9
7. 18 Citroen DS3, David Mezher, Chadi Nasr 2:12:50.2 +4:53.1 +20:27.0
8. 3 Ford Fiesta R5, Nasser Khalifa al-Atiya, Giovanni Bernachinni 2:14:17.0 +1:26.8 +21:53.8
9. 27 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX Issa Abu Jamous Emad Juma 2:35:23.1 21:06.1 +42:59.9
10. 23 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, Ihab Alshurafa, Yousef Juma 2:38:35.0 +:11.9 +46:11.8

Last updated: September 04, 2022 11:01 p.m

About Veronica Richards

Check Also

Canon Professional Services Zoom on photographers at Safari Rally Kenya 2022

Revolutionary technology and world-class service for fast action photographers Canon’s high-performance devices are designed for …