EHRC – Myrsell and Junttila lead after Leg 1 of the Rallye du Chablais

Former FIA EHRC Champions Mats Mysell and Esko Junttila ended the day at the head of Rallye du Chablais, Round 3 of the FIA ​​European Historic Rally Championship.

The Swedes finished the day 3.1 seconds ahead in the #7 Ford Sierra RS Cosworth 4×4, with the #2 BMW M3 E30 of Marc Valliccioni and Yoann Raffaelli in second place, with the #4 Lancia Rally 037 of Ville Silvasti and Risto Pietilainen in third place, 9.2 seconds behind the French BMW.

On the opening day, dry, sunny weather gave way to heavy rain in the mountains and some of the front-runners retired. Stage 4 was also canceled after an accident at the modern rally. Tibor Erdi Jnr and Zoltan Csoko retired after a diff failure in the Ford Sierra. The Audi quattro of category 3 leaders, “Zippo” and Denis Piceno, also had to drop out on stage 1, the Audi stopped with a defective clutch. After repairs, the Audi will return to the second half of the season.

First lap winner Pascal Perroud pushed hard but on the final stage of the day the #1 BMW M3 had an accident damaging the rear of the car. Both Perroud and co-driver Julie Amblard were doing well after being examined by medical staff on the stage, but the car is too badly damaged to rejoin tomorrow’s rally.

With the Audi quattro on the sidelines, Category 3 is led by the #14 Porsche 911 SC of Pentti Veikkanen and Timo Jaakkola, the Finns finishing the day 1m24.5s ahead of the #16 Porsche of Spanish duo Fernando Dameto and Guifre Pujol. The #21 Ford Escort of Tim Metcalfe and John Conner is just 3.6 seconds behind the Spaniards in third place.

Category 2 is led by the #10 Ford Escort RS1800 of Marty McCormack and Barnet Mitchell, the British crew who finished the day in 4th placeth Overall and 37.7 seconds ahead of championship leader Carlo Mylle and his co-driver Steven Vyncke in the #9 Porsche 911 Carrera RSR. Paolo Pasutti and Giovanni Campeis are third, 58.2 seconds behind the Belgians in the #12 Porsche 911 Carrera RS.

In category 1, Ernie and Karen Graham’s Ford Escort Twin Cam leads for the third time this year by 2:30.2 minutes over their Flexifly Rally Team teammates James Potter and Caroline McCormack in the #22 Ford Cortina. Reigning champions Antonio Parisi and Giuseppe D’Angelo are 47.1 seconds further behind in the #19 Porsche 911 S.

The second and final day of the Rallye du Chablais will feature eight more stages that will decide who will go home with trophies and a large amount of championship points.

CLICK HERE for Rallye du Chablais Stage 1 results.

About Veronica Richards

Check Also

Bugatti Divo will join other supercars in this year’s Gumball 3000 Rally “The Middle East”.

The limited edition Bugatti Divo, one of just 40, will join other supercars in this …