Motorsport Roundup: Thierry Neuville Wins WRC Rally Spain, 2022 F1 Calendar Revealed, 2021-22 Formula E Qualifying Format Revealed, And More

The last seven days weren’t as action-packed as the week before, but there were still plenty of topics that made the headlines. It started with the penultimate round of the 2021 FIA World Rally Championship in Catalonia, followed by future announcements for Formula 1, Formula E and Audi’s LMDh program. Here are the facts:


The 11th round of the FIA ​​World Rally Championship 2021 saw Take Thierry Neuville a sovereign victory for Hyundai Motorsport at the Rally Spain. Next to him on the podium was Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Elfyn Evans in second place while Dani Sordo’s other Hyundai was third. That result helped Before the season finale in Monza, Evans catches up with his team-mate and championship leader Sebastien Ogier to just 17 points.

formula One

While there are still six more laps to complete for the 2021 Formula 1 season, the focus is on 2022 as F1 has unveiled a record-breaking 23-race calendar. The season kicks off in Bahrain on March 20th, with Abu Dhabi hosting the season finale on November 20th.

Formula E.

For the coming 2021/22 season, Formula E will replace its currently controversial qualifying format. The new format divides the 22-person field into two groups of 11. From the second race onwards, the groups are determined according to the driver ranking table. There will be a 10-minute session with cars with an output of 225 kW, of which four drivers from each group will compete in football-style knockout matches.

Here the power is increased to 250 kW and the drivers are eliminated in the quarter and semi-finals, followed by a two-car battle for pole position. Apart from the obvious first two starting positions, positions three and four will be determined by the slowest drivers in the semifinals. Places five to eight are determined by the quarter-finals. For the remainder of the starting grid, the drivers of the winning group (from five to twelve) line up in uneven places, while the other group of fifth to twelfth drivers line up in the even places.


It will be some time before Audi’s comeback in 2023, but the car manufacturer has announced the three-time DTM champion Rene Rast and Nico Müller as its first two drivers for its LeMans 24-hour race. The automaker will compete in the LMDh category together with its sister brand Porsche.

Formula 1 will head to the United States Grand Prix at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, and MotoGP to Misano next week Grand Prix of Emilia-Romagna.

About Veronica Richards

Check Also

Zambia’s racing couple looking forward to WRC experience

Leroy and Urshlla Gomes are on their way to a big stage when they make …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.