Palou wins the Laguna Seca test, Ericsson bounces off a shunt

Palou may have slipped to underdog status in the championship race as he seeks to become Ganassi’s first consecutive title winner since Dario Franchitti in 2010-11, and he is winless in 2022 so far. But the Spanish star led the 13 riders in action at Laguna Seca, with his closest rival nearly a quarter of a second behind.

The NTT-backed #10 CGR Honda, 73, lapped the beautiful hilly 2.238 mile course on the Monterey Peninsula in 1 minute 11.441 secondsapprox of 110 laps, a speed of 112.78 miles per hour.

His closest rivals were the Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolets of Felix Rosenqvist and Pato O’Ward, 0.236 and 0.270 seconds behind him respectively, with Rosenqvist completing most laps of the day at 112 but setting his best time on lap 67.

Graham Rahal’s speed indicated Rahal Letterman Lanigan-Honda’s recent uptick in form continues as he clocked 71.802mph on his final flyer of the day.

Indy 500 Champion Marcus Ericsson exited Turn 6, the fast uphill left-hander where the cars experience a lot of compression as they climb the corkscrew. The No. 8 Ganassi machine suffered significant damage to the left rear corner and rear wing, losing 90 minutes of potential track to repairs. But the stone-cold Swede returned to the track in time to set a 71.824, followed by a 71.893 two laps later to end his day within four tenths of a second from Palou.

Rookie David Malukas, who starred in his last IndyCar outing at World Wide Technology Raceway with his first-ever podium at this level, was sixth fastest. The Dale Coyne Racing driver with HMD-Honda was 0.07s quicker than six-time IndyCar Champion Scott Dixon, although the legend’s best lap came on Lap 4 before he focused on race settings.

Devlin DeFrancesco capitalized on a rookie day as the lone representative of Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport-Honda and was a hair’s breadth ahead of fellow rookie Callum Ilott of Junco’s Hollinger Racing-Chevrolet. Jack Harvey and Christian Lundgaard (another rookie) were 10thth and 11th for RLL, ahead of Takuma Sato in the Coyne with RWR car, while Jimmie Johnson completed the field, two seconds behind teammate Palou.

WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca will host the 2022 season finale of the NTT IndyCar Series next week, with the penultimate round being held at Portland International Raceway this weekend.

P driver team engine Best lap total rounds
1 Alex Palou Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 71,441 110
2 Felix Rosenqvist McLaren SP Chevrolet Arrow 71,677 112
3 Pato O’Ward McLaren SP Chevrolet Arrow 71,711 100
4 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda 71,802 96
5 Markus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 71,824 69
6 David Malukas Dale Coyne Racing with HMD Honda 71,894 107
7 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 71,968 104
8th Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport Honda 72,000 72
9 Callum Ilotte Junco’s Hollinger Racing Chevrolet 72.012 88
10 Jack Harvey Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda 72,062 80
11 Christian Lundgard Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda 72,299 94
12 Takuma Sato Dale Coyne Racing with RWR Honda 72,532 88
13 Jimmie Johnson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 73,449 102

About Veronica Richards

Check Also

‘Some logic’ for Ricciardo to take F1 reserve role in 2023 – Motorsport Week

1996 Formula One World Champion Damon Hill believes there is “a certain logic” to Daniel …