Taylor leads first practice in WTR Acura

Cadillac DPi-V.Rs dominated early racing in practice one for the penultimate round of the 2022 season IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship for the prototype class.

Earl Bamber in the #02 Chip Ganassi Racing starter was the first driver in the 1m50s, going 1m50.835s ahead of Pipo Derani in the Action Express Racing car and then ahead of Sebastien Bourdais in the #01 Ganassi machine.

With 50 of the remaining 90 minutes of the session, Tom Blomqvist broke that Cadillac 1-2-3 by putting the Meyer Shank Racing Acura ARX-05 in third place, 0.22s off the best time before pitting.

An alarming out for High Class Racing’s Dennis Andersen saw the LMP2-Oreca fly off the track at Turn 11 and in need of at least a new nose. That brought a red flag, but flying the green with 27 minutes remaining saw all the DPi cars backtrack.

Seven minutes later, Ricky Taylor was up his pace – and found a relatively clear lap – to send Wayne Taylor Racing’s Acura into second place, 0.177s off Bamber’s benchmark, and then set a time of 1’50.539s – nearly three Tenths – convincingly to the top faster than the next opponent.

His time would not be eclipsed, so Bamber/Alex Lynn and Derani/Olivier Pla stayed in second and third, ahead of the Meyer Shank Acura, the #01 Cadillac of Bourdais/Renger van der Zande. Tristan Vautier set the fastest time for the JDC Miller MotorSports Cadillac but was nearly 1.5 seconds slower than Taylor.

In GTD Pro, the #14 Vasser Sullivan Racing Lexus RC F with Ben Barnicoat at the wheel held the fastest time, 2’06.971s, but in the hands of teammate Jack Hawksworth the car stalled on the track at Turn 12 and had to retire after 40 minutes to be saved.

Closest at this stage was Matt Campbell in the Pfaff Porsche 911 GT3 R, 0.15s back, just ahead of GTD’s Pro-Am class leader, local hero Aaron Telitz in the second Lexus he shares with Frankie Montecalvo .

With 17 minutes to go, Robby Foley then overtook all the GTD Pro and GTD runners in the Turner Motorsports BMW M4 by a time of 2’06.920s, with best times in Sector 2 – which is 73 seconds at GTD pace – and Sector 3.

Montecalvo wouldn’t take it, and in fact he took first place by more than a quarter of a second over Foley.

But he stayed in the lead for barely a minute before Jaden Conwright’s NTE/SSR Lamborghini Huracan moved up to P1 and then the similar Carbahn Peregrine Racing Lambo, driven by Robert Megennis, overshadowed Conwright by just 0.071s.

Connor De Phillippi in the works BMW M4 eventually overshadowed Foley’s best by 0.28s to become the fastest of the GTD Pro runners, while Antonio Garcia in the Corvette C8.R moved up to third in class behind Barnicoats earlier Best time and ahead of the Pfaff Porsche.

In LMP2, Ryan Dalziel was fastest for Era Motorsport ahead of Tristan Nunez, who has returned to PR1 Mathiasen Motorsport to replace Jonathan Bomarito in the number 11 car.

Juan Pablo Montoya was third fastest for DragonSpeed ​​ahead of Louis Deletraz in the Tower Motorsports car and Josh Pierson’s second PR1 Mathiasen entry.

Malthe Jakobsen’s Sean Creech Motorsports car, despite a few incidents, led the LMP3, three tenths faster than Riley Motorsports’ Felipe Fraga and Scott Andrews in the JDC Miller Motorsports machine.

The second practice session begins at 3:15 p.m. local time (Central).

Full practice times to follow…

About Veronica Richards

Check Also

2022 WEC 8 Hours of Bahrain – How to Watch, Session Timings and More

All five Drivers’ Championships remain up for grabs as the WEC makes its annual visit …